Nursery Progress

Posted by Cheri

Circa 2008, the room behind our bedroom was my closet.  I was a pretty terrible photographer pre-Jared.  Exhibit A:

Circa 2008 - My closet and workout space.

Circa 2008 – My closet and workout space.

In the years that followed we rewired all of the outlets, painted it green to match the freshly painted bedroom and replaced the windows.  Up until recently this was our closet:

Our closet.  I moved out most of my clothes and two dressers before I thought to snap a picture.

I moved out most of my clothes and two dressers before I thought to snap a picture, but you get the idea.

Jared rearranged every “real” closet in the house (there are a whopping 3!) to maximize the space in each.  Even still, we had to take a hard look at our wardrobes (I donated A LOT) and then put seasonal clothes down in the basement.  As my clothes become too small, they too get banished to the basement.

We’ve made quite a bit of progress so far.  Jared wired/hung a ceiling light (goodbye hideous floor lamp!), filled all of the holes in the ceiling and walls, and painted the baseboards, window trim, door, and ceiling.  I painted both dressers and the walls.  The wall color is Coventry Gray by Benjamin Moore.

Sure does look gray here...

Sure does look gray here…

I’m a little disappointed because in some lights it looks less gray and more blue, but it’s just going to have to work.  I used the low VOC paint, but it still smelled pretty terrible to my sensitive nose.  Here are some pictures of progress:

Same view as the previous picture.

Nursery Progress

Jared bought the black dresser for his apartment in DC.  I livened it up a bit with some milk paint and fun Italian hardware.  It will be used as a changing table.

Jared bought the black dresser for his apartment in DC. I livened it up with some milk paint and fun Italian hardware. It will double as a changing table.

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, there are still some things left to do.  We failed to previously mention that when we refinished our floors, we crammed everything that would fit into the nursery to save ourselves from moving our furniture too far.  Refinishing the nursery floor will have to wait until the weather gets warmer to ensure proper ventilation and a faster curing time.

The awful accordion style door must go.  We’ve replaced those one by one in the house, and now we are finally to the LAST one!  Jared already bought the door and glass knob (both at second hand stores in Bmore), but again must wait until the weather gets warmer so he can strip it.

The final thing on hold based on the cold is the vent for the air-conditioning which needs to be spray painted.

There are two pieces of furniture still needed: a crib and a glider.  After that I was thinking of a wall decal, but I am still deciding between thisthis, or this.  I also wanted to make a mobile for above the changing table or crib, but I just had a volunteer to do this for me. : )

We’ve got plenty of time.

Cheri

About jaredwithers

Jared likes to: Play Mandolin, Build Stuff, Take Pictures, Ride Bikes
This entry was posted in Nursery. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Nursery Progress

  1. mchung44 says:

    The nursery looks great!! You two do some amazing work! I can’t wait to see the finished product. I like the second two decals the best 🙂 Hope you are feeling great!

  2. Alexia Finotello says:

    Love the owl one!!

  3. Krista Lusby says:

    Looking good! I vote for the owl decal! I also vote for a picture of the bump. Don’t wait too long for the rest of your projects – the last trimester goes fast!

  4. Janae says:

    Looks great! You furniture making/refinishing prowess is impressive. I like the first decal.

  5. toad says:

    Did Jared bring the accordian-style door from the Crackhouse bathroom?

Leave a Reply

