Making a Crib

Usually when I start a project I have intentions of documenting the progress on the blog as sort of a “how to” series.  The first day of work is always well photographed, followed by several work days of forgetting to take any pictures, which leads me to say “awe heck with it, I’ll just post a picture when it’s done.”

So here we go — for real this time.

Making a crib.

I start by sketching a design based on several commercial offerings Cheri likes but are either made of pressed cardboard stained “espresso” or well-made but priced similar to a good used car.

The Plan

The Plan

Then it’s off to the lumber yard where I am about to learn an expensive lesson.  I’ve decided to go with curly maple and cherry, like the previously posted cradle, but with a lot more maple.  When you arrive at the yard, they hand you a price list for everything in stock.  Curly maple was listed at “$7.00 and up”.  I went to the barn, found the giant stack of curly maple, and wrestled boards around looking for the right width and thickness for my plan and boards with the best “curlyness”.  After a full two hours I’ve found all the boards I need.  I measured them, multiply by $7 – plus a little bit for the “and up” part – then called on the closest employee to ring me up.  I watched him grade every board and it quickly became clear that the $7 price was for all the crappy boards I left back in the pile and the “and up” part is not to be sneezed at.  Hopefully Cheri doesn’t mind deferring that car purchase…  Ok, enough of my complaining, just keep this in mind next time you wander into a lumber yard.

Some of the rough maple.

A small portion of the rough curly maple.

Now the real fun starts.  It turns out great grandpa’s old Disston is the cleanest, quietest, and most agile way to crosscut 10ft long boards down to the lengths you need.

A Bright Idea While Sawing

A Bright Idea While Sawing

After the boards are cut to length, my lovely shop assistant helps plane them flat and to the correct thickness.

Planing to Thickness

Planing to Thickness

Rip the legs and cross pieces to width and we’re ready for joinery.  More to follow.

Our New Neighbor

Our New Neighbor

-Jared

About jaredwithers

Jared likes to: Play Mandolin, Build Stuff, Take Pictures, Ride Bikes
This entry was posted in Creations, Nursery. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

